Skip navigation

You guessed them, right ??? Hehehe…

Most of us use them every day, in some form or the other( I do !!!) …i guess, we cant do without them( I cant!!! )…so much so that we tend to take them for granted ( I guess, I am guilty 😦 ….and all thanks to RP of My Workshop for choosing these dear little things for this month’s JFI….

And so I went into an overdrive…and to add to the party, my dearest Mom is here..so I got her to contribute one as well…:)

Here is one of my favorites… Simple Tomato Subzi

100_6799.jpg ( hmmm…this pic was taken before all of you gave those tips on photography…am posting it only coz the cake is worse…:P )

But let the pic not discourage you..the recipe is worth a try….

6 ripe big tomatoes

2 big onions

1 green chilli

1 tbsp chana dal

mustard seeds, curry leaves for tadka

1 tsp cumin seeds roasted and powdered

chilli powder, turmeric powder, salt ( according to taste)

Oil

1 cup water

Blanch the tomatoes and slice the onion into thin slivers. Heat oil in a kadai, put the mustard seeds and curry leaves and the chana dal. Once the mustard seeds start spluttering, saute the onion well. If using the green chilli, slit it lenghtwise and add it now. Once the onion becomes golden, put the tomatoes in ( mash them a bit, not too much, use a fork to bring out the juices if you want to) and the turmeric, chilli pd and salt. Mix well and pour the water. Cover and cook till tomatoes mix well. ( I like to add a bit of my grandma’s masala ( check out the masala bit in this recipe), but then thats a trick I do, its not part of the original recipe )

Serve this with hot parantha. If you like scrambled egg, then this combo is a killer !

My mom is visiting me and the first thing she did is to check my refrigerator ( she knows her daughter, I guess 😀 ) and as expected she found some of those veggies which she knew I would pack off till I didnt have any excuses…:D

And guess what she found….No, no…its not the red mundane ones, but the green variety and I am glad she did, coz here’s an authentic Kerala Iyer recipe for Green Tomato Koottu

6 small firm green tomatoes

1 cup  fresh grated coconut

2 red chilli ( use according to taste) 

cumin seeds

tamarind ( lemon size ball)

Turmeric pd, salt

1 cup water

mustard seeds, urad dal, channa dal, slightly fried coconut for tadka

Chop the tomatoes into small pieces. Cook them in a pan with the water. Put the  turmeric pd and salt while it is cooking. Also make the tamarind paste and cook it alongwith. Make a paste of the coconut, red chillies and cumin seeds ( it should be ground to a smooth paste). Once the tomatoes are cooked, pour the coconut paste and add water ( adjust according to the desired consistency). Bring to boil and stir. Garnish with the tadka.

Tastes really great with rice and varathu aracha curry ( will blog that soon 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Sounds good and great entries too:)

    Thanks Asha, do try them and let me know 🙂

  2. hey, what’s wrong with that pic? it looks fine to me, except that it would be clearer if it was larger.
    Hehe..thats the problem…the moment I put the large pic, you wouldnt say this..:-)..Hey, but the latest one I took looks much better…will post it soon..:-)

  3. hi,
    First time to ur bolg…… It is great and different recipe……..
    Thanks Sukanya 🙂 Look forward to seeing you here more !


Leave a Reply

