Skip navigation

The best six doctors anywhere
And no one can deny it
Are sunshine, water, rest, and air
Exercise and diet.
These six will gladly you attend
If only you are willing
Your mind they’ll ease
Your will they’ll mend
And charge you not a shilling.

Nursery rhyme quoted by Wayne Fields, What the River Knows, 1990

If we were to take a poll on ” the most discussed topic in any informal group/setting”,  I think healthy living  would win hands down.

I think about ways to make our lives healthy. I think about this quite often, more often than I would want to and much more often than our parents or grand parents would have ever done consciously.  I think thats the price we are paying for living in these times…( Hey, am really thankful for all the amenities and luxuries that we have now, esp this laptop and the internet 😉 ) but still these times do require us to be more aware and more proactive about our approach to ensuring a healthy life.

Eating healthy is one of the most important, if not THE most important component of maintaining a good health.  I am sure that most of us strive to provide the healthiest food to our family at every possible occasion. However, since many of us may not be qualified nutritionists or dieticians ( far from it…)  and there is, as always, a humongous amount of information on everything , most of which turn out to be either highly technical making it less useful or turn out to be trash and the rest of it gives bipolar views leaving you more confused than when you set out…So there you are, left with no choice but to take one side or the other or just get exasperated and give up…

Well, since this has been my experience for sometime, I have been wanting to bring some semblance to this situation and improve my understanding of healthy food. And ever since I started my blog, it has given me an opportunity to bring some discipline in my thoughts as well. And of course, the satisfaction of sharing and discussing adds to the value.

With this thought, I am starting a series on Health and Food where I will essentially do the following :

i. Discuss one topic on Health and Food every week ( hey, am not so sure whether I can adhere to the weekly deadline, with a 6 day week and a toddler in tow, but will surely try 🙂 ). This will essentially remain within the realm of healthy food, healthy cooking and health aspects like nutritional values of food, balanced diet etc. I ll try as much to keep to the subject, but may refer to anything related to other health aspects, if I feel it would benefit all of us. Will try and make it as simple and as relevant as possible. Also, which would be easier to practice 😉 ( psst..its for lazy people like me 😉 )

ii. Feature one recipe which is healthy and tasty ( basically to counter b’s arguments on healthy food does not taste good !…but I am sure I ll also enjoy doing this )

Will be back with the first post on the series by this weekend, till then do let me know your thoughts on this.

One Comment

  1. Good one Santhi!:))

    When all the above fails(six doctors), go to the 7th real doctor(my hubby) so I can send my kids to college!;D

    Hahaha….lucky you..;-)


Leave a Reply

