Skip navigation

 I  am a lurker in my own blog…Part of it is because I am lazy and not so ‘disciplined’, as I would like to think…part of it is because like most of you, I try to portion out the 24 hours amongst multiple roles ( I just scrape through most of the times 🙂 )…and part of it is because every post is like first labour…!

This is the reason I keep doing the disappearing act. Please treat this as an anticipatory bail as well, since I dont see myself changing any much for quite sometime, (you can never be sure, can you ? 😉 )…

From now, the blog that used to be ” Me and my food thoughts” will be ” Writing on the Mirror”. Primarily because I wanted a single blog where I could reflect upon everything in life…from food to politics to life to ramblings…because it is all this combined that makes me ‘me’, and I would rather not have me cut into slices and served 😉 ( Please note that though the earlier blog was primarily focused on Food, this current blog will have elements of everything, food being one of them )

I will be integrating posts from my other blog as well into Writing on the Mirror, and yes new posts  as well but there will be some delay before the whole blog comes up in the final form that I want it to be in…if I can achieve it, that is !!!

I recently read this

” But humanity’s greatest advances are not in its discoveries – but in how those discoveries are applied to reduce inequity. Whether through democracy, strong public education, quality health care, or broad economic opportunity – reducing inequity is the highest human achievement.”

And this

“If you believe that every life has equal value, it’s revolting to learn that some lives are seen as worth saving and others are not. We said to ourselves: “This can’t be true. But if it is true, it deserves to be the priority of our giving.”

So we began our work in the same way anyone here would begin it. We asked: “How could the world let these children die?”

The answer is simple, and harsh. The market did not reward saving the lives of these children, and governments did not subsidize it. So the children died because their mothers and their fathers had no power in the market and no voice in the system.

But you and I have both.

Harsh but true.

A fact that keeps reinforcing itself to you every moment, in every experience you have, when you live in a country like India. I see this in front of me everyday. You dont need to visit any specific place for this. Just stand by the road for a few minutes and you will have a thousand stories to remind you of this fact.

I had quoted from the speech given by Bill Gates on Harvard Commencement this year. Read the full text here.

5 Comments

  1. Ok, so you took the plunge! Lurker in your own blog – LOL! That’s a first!
    sra…wouldnt you agree with me being a lurker…;-)…I am not so regular at all…but well, I am aiming for change !!

  2. Confession…….. LOL That was really funny!!!!

    Change…….. its for good 😀 Hope to see more of you here

    Commitment……. now you better take this seriously 😉

    Coffeeeeee…thanks,…though I am not so sure that the change is for good or bad…but a change nevertheless, makes it more interesting, isnt it ?

  3. so can i come and nag you to post every day?
    Bee..I ll out do myself, if i promise you that and keep the promise :-)….but yes, a practical target I have set for myself, is one post every alternate day atleast :-O …I hope I ll be able to keep that !!!!

  4. Hello self lurker!!:D
    I know it happens sometime.When you skip blogging for a while,you just don’t want to come back.
    Well… take courage and blog.I will be here.I am not la urker you know!:D
    Thanks Asha ….I admire the fact that you visit so many of us, and take pains to write your comments 🙂

  5. You have been contemplating with this idea for sometime now and I thought u were convinced by Asha’s comment abt having two blogs.. Am surprised..
    Yes…I was contemplating this for sometime, and the reason I had wrote a post asking everyone else for their opinion, was because I was using the blog as a sounding board :-)…It was more like a deliberation, and not an agreement !


Leave a Reply

